The Temple 15 – Panic Buying & the Holidays

I hope that all of my American blog buddies had a great Thanksgiving! I’ve got five days off work, which I’m trying to fill with cleaning, writing, and hobby time.

Speaking of the hobby, I’ve been guilty in the past of “panic buying” older Games Workshop kits when it’s looked like replacement kits are on the way. I’ve mentioned this ad nauseam, but, while I think the sculpts Games Workshop has been producing the past few years have been gorgeous, I’m not a fan of the mono- or limited pose nature of the various lines coming out. My hobbyist/converter heart loves the “older” (mainly 90s and 2000s) kits that allow for a near-endless variety of configurations and kitbashing opportunities.

I also love the “value boxes” that come in the form of Boarding Patrols and Combat Patrols and other specialized units, and I’ve been watching the Adeptus Mechanicus Combat Patrol slowly disappearing online. I should love the newer, freakier AdMech units coming out (cavalry and flying infantry with bat-like and whatnot), but I just don’t. The current Combat Patrol features a number of key units I’ve been wanting to get my hands on, and yesterday I pulled the trigger on a purchase:

It contains the following:

  1. An Enginseer, which I need for my Septic Infantry army
  2. An Onager Dunecrawler tank, which will be heavily modified to join the armored contingent of my Septic Infantry army
  3. 3 Kataphron Destroyers/Breachers, which I don’t play but which are hands-down some of the best units for weirdo conversion parts
  4. 10 Skitarii, which I don’t really need but can put to use, maybe as Nurgle-corrupted tech-infantry

So there you go, my hobby OCD has added some cool stuff to my fledgling army.

On another notes, I spent today putting up some holiday decorations. Nothing crazy (I live in an apartment and don’t really have room for anything big):

Of course I have a lot of Christmas minis.

Also, here’s a fun pic from my apartment complex. I call it “Two Kinds of People in November”:

Anyway, thanks for visiting the Temple!

2 responses to “The Temple 15 – Panic Buying & the Holidays”

    • It’s a really cool tank that I’ve considered picking up for years now. Finally have an excuse to do so. I’m excited to get to work on it.

      And haha yeah. I keep waiting for the pumpkin to disappear, but they are holding out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started